The board and management are committed to ensuring that Chorus maintains international best practice governance structures and adheres to the highest ethical standards.


Jon Hartley
Anne Urlwin
Clayton Wakefield
Prue Flacks
Keith Turner
Mark Ratcliffe

Jon Hartley, BA Econ Accounting (Hons), Fellow ICA (England & Wales), Associate ICA (Australia), Fellow AICD 

Chairman; Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Jon is a Chartered Accountant and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He has held senior roles across a diverse range of commercial and not for profit organisations in several countries, including as chairman of SkyCity, director of Mighty River Power, CEO of Brierley New Zealand and Solid Energy, and CFO of Lend Lease in Australia.

Jon is currently deputy chairman of ASB Bank and Sovereign Assurance Company, chairman of VisionFund International and the Wellington City Mission and a trustee of World Vision New Zealand.

Jon is on our Audit and Risk Management Committee and our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee.

Anne Urlwin, BCom, CA, F InstD, FNZIM, ACIS 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Anne has more than 20 years’ directorship experience across many sectors, including energy, health, construction, regulatory services, internet infrastructure, research, banking, forestry and the primary sector, as well as education, sports administration and the arts.

She is chairman of Naylor Love Enterprises and a director of Southern Response Earthquake Services, Steel & Tube Holdings, OnePath Life (NZ), and Summerset Group. Anne is also chairman of the Ngāi Tahu Te Rūnanga Audit and Risk Committee, the former chairman of Lakes Environmental, the New Zealand Blood Service, the New Zealand Domain Name Registry and a former director of Meridian Energy

Anne is chairman of our Audit and Risk Management Committee.

Clayton Wakefield, BSc (Computer Science), GradDip Mgmt 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Clayton has over 30 years’ experience in the banking, financial services, telecommunications and technology industries. He is an executive director and owner of Techspace, a leading New Zealand independent IT advisory company working with New Zealand’s major corporates.

Clayton is currently a director of Fisher & Paykel Finance and its subsidiaries, a former chairman of Electronic Transactions Services and Visa New Zealand and a former director of Endace.

From 2001 to 2007 Clayton was Head of Technology and Operations at ASB Bank.

Clayton is the chairman of our Human Resources and Compensation Committee.

Prue Flacks, LLB, LLM 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Prue is a director of Bank of New Zealand and Mighty River Power, and a trustee of the Victoria University Foundation.

She is a barrister and solicitor with extensive experience in commercial law and, in particular, banking, finance and securities law.

Her areas of expertise include corporate and regulatory matters, corporate finance, capital
markets, securitisation and business restructuring. Prue is a consultant to Russell McVeagh, where she was previously a partner for 20 years.

Prue is on our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee, our Audit and Risk Management Committee and our Human Resources and Compensation Committee.

Keith Turner, BE (Hons), ME, PhD, DistFIPENZ 

Director since 1 December 2011; independent

Dr Keith Turner was CEO of New Zealand electricity generator and retailer Meridian Energy for nine years from its establishment in 1999. He is currently chairman of Fisher and Paykel Appliances and Emirates Team New Zealand, a director of Spark Infrastructure, an Australian listed company, and a former deputy chairman of Auckland International Airport.

Keith has had an extensive career in electricity, taking part in much of its reform, including the separation of Transpower from Electricity Corporation of New Zealand (ECNZ) in 1992, the separation of Contact Energy from ECNZ in 1996 and the eventual break up of ECNZ into three companies in 1999.

Keith is on our Human Resources and Compensation Committee and our Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee .

Mark Ratcliffe, BA Accounting 

Director since 9 December 2011; non-independent

Mark has been CEO of Chorus since it was established in 2007 as an operationally separate business unit within Telecom and was appointed as its first CEO when it became a separately listed entity in 2011.

In a 20 year career with Telecom, Mark held finance, marketing, product development, product management and IT roles. Mark was promoted to the executive team in 1999 where he was CIO (including a period as joint CEO of AAPT in Australia) and then COO Technology and Wholesale before becoming CEO of Chorus.

From May 2010, he led the team that secured Chorus’ participation in the Government’s UFB initiative and the demerger of Chorus and Telecom.

Back to top

Board committees

Our Board has three standing Board Committees (each with a Board approved Charter and Chairman).  These Committees assist the Board by focusing on specific responsibilities in greater detail than is possible for the Board as a whole.

Audit and Risk Management Committee 

Assists the Board in ensuring oversight of all matters relating to risk management, financial management and controls, and the financial accounting, audit and reporting of Chorus. Members:

Human Resources and Compensation Committee 

Assists the Board in overseeing people policies and strategies including remuneration frameworks. Members:

Nominations and Corporate Governance Committee 

Assists the Board in promoting and overseeing continuous improvement of good corporate governance. Members:

Principal governance documents

The board regularly reviews and assesses Chorus' governance structures and processes to identify opportunities for enhancements and to ensure they reflect Chorus' operation and culture.